digital chamber music series

Dvorak String

Complementing the compelling influence of his Czech musical heritage, Antonín Dvořák (1841-1904) aspired to write the music of broader, more universal appeal.

The quintet’s unconventional scoring of a double bass lends it a particular sonority. In addition to grounding the ensemble with a deeper harmonic foundation, the double bass furthermore frees the cello to join the violin and viola in the treble register.

Still, he often imbued his music with certain traits, particularly rhythmic ones, of his native Moravian and Bohemian music.



Releasing spring 2021

Exclusively on SCSO.LIVE


Antonín Dvořák

String Quintet No. 2 in G major, Op. 77 (1875)
I. Allegro con fuoco
II. Scherzo. Allegro vivace
III. Poco andante
IV. Finale. Allegro assai

listen to

What You'll

Playlists created just for you, curated by the Sioux City Symphony Orchestra staff. Listen to playlists of upcoming performances to get an idea of what's on the program. It’s the perfect starting point for anyone who’s eager to explore the music!

Plan Your Visit


There’s a lot to think about when you’re planning a visit to one of our live performances at the Orpheum. That’s why we’ve compiled this handy information for you—all in one place!

  • scso-plan-your-visit-before
    Before You Get Here
    There's a ton to do in Downtown Sioux City before you get to the Orpheum. Dinner? Drinks? We've got your covered.

  • scso-plan-your-visit-getting
    Getting Here
    The Orpheum Theatre is in Downtown Sioux City on Pierce Street. Get a map, directions and learn where to park.

  • scso-plan-your-visit-while
    While You're Here
    What's the proper attire for an SCSO performance? What about clapping and etiquette? Don't worry! We've got you covered.