digital chamber music series

Wind Quintet

Carl Nielsen, Denmark’s greatest and most frequently performed composer, had always been fascinated by woodwind instruments.

The colorful Wind Quintet of Carl Nielsen is arguably his most characteristic work. The quintet is a relatively late work that reveals the personalities of all the instruments and of the players, sometimes alone, more often in conversation or argument.

The work is cheerful and entertaining, often filled with fantastical playfulness.



Releasing spring 2021

Exclusively on SCSO.LIVE


Carl Nielsen

Wind Quintent, Op. 43 (1922)
I. Allegro ben moderato
II. Sarabande (Andante)
III. Praeludium. Adagio - Tema con variazioni (I-XI)

listen to

What You'll

Playlists created just for you, curated by the Sioux City Symphony Orchestra staff. Listen to playlists of upcoming performances to get an idea of what's on the program. It’s the perfect starting point for anyone who’s eager to explore the music!

Plan Your Visit


There’s a lot to think about when you’re planning a visit to one of our live performances at the Orpheum. That’s why we’ve compiled this handy information for you—all in one place!

  • scso-plan-your-visit-before
    Before You Get Here
    There's a ton to do in Downtown Sioux City before you get to the Orpheum. Dinner? Drinks? We've got your covered.

  • scso-plan-your-visit-getting
    Getting Here
    The Orpheum Theatre is in Downtown Sioux City on Pierce Street. Get a map, directions and learn where to park.

  • scso-plan-your-visit-while
    While You're Here
    What's the proper attire for an SCSO performance? What about clapping and etiquette? Don't worry! We've got you covered.